Florida - Purchasing a handgun

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Florida - Purchasing a handgun

Thought this might interest some of you bi-State members.
    I was in a gun store in Florida, it nice to see a display with something in it. Anyway, I am currently a NJ resident and was asking about long gun and hand gun options and the owner asked me I owned a home in Florida. I do, to which he said "Welcome to Florida since you own property you are considered a resident". So I can purchase a handgun by showing my NJ drivers license and proof that I own a home and pay property taxes. Clearly, I can't bring the firearm back to NJ but a hell of a lot simpler than the hoops NJ makes you jump through.

Really?
    I thought that your driver’s license is your primary residence and buying in FL would be a no go. Interesting.

Comment

I believe you need to be an official permanent resident and file Federal taxes there, anyway....

File a Florida Declaration of Domicile

The Florida "Declaration of Domicile" is a document that allows you to declare that you're a bona fide resident of Florida. It states that you reside in and maintain a place of residence in the state. You intend to maintain the residence as your permanent home.

You must declare in the document whether you also maintain another place or places of residence in some other state or states. You must confirm that your residence in the State of Florida constitutes your predominant and principal home if you do.

You must sign the Florida Declaration of Domicile must in front of a notary public or the deputy clerk of a Florida court. It must then be recorded in the public records of the Florida county in which you reside. There's a minimal fee for recording.