Converting AR upper to "bolt" action.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Converting AR upper to "bolt" action.

Stay tuned for the somewhat exciting process of converting an upper to bolt action!
    See the thrilling saga of removing the muzzle brake, tapping and sealing the gas port!
    Watch me struggle trying to figure out how to get around using the idiotic charging handle without slicing and dicing the upper (or my hands)!

But seriously, I have a Bushmaster 20 inch HBAR 1:9 upper that I picked up cheap from LI Ammo.
    The brake looks like it was pinned but not welded (looks like a roll pin epoxied into the hole), and it's a nice brake so I want to save it.
    The next thing to go will be the gas block. I need the space it occupies. The tricky part is closing the gas port.
    It looks like I'll be drilling and tapping the hole with a 6-32 tap and screwing in a set screw....unless someone has a better idea.
    Last edited by Mad Russian; 04-12-2016, 08:19 AM.
    SHADAP VARMINT!

...or you could trade it for a Saiga and stop trying to make a prized American pig out of swine, Comrade.

Seriously, if you're going that route and like the brake, why tamper with it?

"Except the Lord build they labor in vain that build it." I firmly believe this; and I also believe that without his concurring aid we shall succeed in this political building no better than the Builders of Babel: We shall be divided by our little partial local interests; our projects will be confounded, and we ourselves shall God governs in the affairs of men. I have lived, Sir, a long time..."
    Ben Franklin, arguably our least faith driven founding father

Comment

I'll trade you an upper of your choice from my collection. Please do not butcher a bushmaster upper!

Comment

Ahhhh! But you have to know I'm trying not to butcher it to the point where it cannot be restored fairly easily.
        This going to be a bench upper (I'll screw together a lower for it eventually).